When we think of Floor Jansen, the first thing that comes to mind is her powerhouse vocals that have enthralled audiences worldwide. However, what often gets overlooked is her exceptional talent as a composer and lyricist. From her days in After Forever to her solo endeavors and projects like Revamp, Floor Jansen has proven time and again that she’s not just a remarkable singer but also a brilliant composer. Let’s dive into the top 10 songs where Floor Jansen’s compositional prowess shines through


10. “Sweet Curse” by Revamp

A powerful ballad featuring Floor Jansen’s signature blend of commanding vocals and emotive lyricism, is a breathtaking composition co-crafted by Floor herself, along with Joost van den Broek and Waldemar Sorychta. This exquisite track weaves together intricate melodies with raw intensity, captivating listeners with its beauty and emotional depth.

9. “My Paragon” by Floor Jansen

Song from Floor Jansen’s debut solo album, demonstrates her exceptional talent for crafting deeply personal lyrics and captivating melodies. Co-written with Gordon Groothedde, the song serves as a window into Floor’s inner world, exploring themes of resilience and self-discovery. Through her emotive vocal delivery, Floor takes listeners on a journey of introspection and growth.

8. “Misery’s No Crime” by Revamp

Song is co-authored by Floor herself, Jord Otto, Ruben Wijga, and Joost van den Broek. This electrifying track seamlessly melds elements of metal with Floor’s soaring vocals, creating a captivating sonic experience. In the studio version, the addition of guest vocalist Mark Jansen on growl parts adds an extra layer of intensity to the song. However, in live performances, Floor Jansen takes on the growl parts herself, demonstrating her exceptional vocal range and command of the stage.

7. “Intrinsic” by After Forever

A nostalgic anthem that showcases the essence of Floor Jansen’s early career with After Forever, is a composition co-crafted by Mark Jansen, Sander Gommans, and Floor herself. This emotionally charged song features intricate instrumentation and deep lyrics. With its evocative melodies and heartfelt vocals, the song has the power to move listeners to tears.

6. “Here is My Hell” by Revamp

A heavy track crafted by Floor Jansen in collaboration with Joost van den Broek and Waldemar Sorychta, is a mesmerizing showcase of her talent for creating hauntingly heavy music. Rich in progressive elements, the song captivates listeners with its intricate composition and emotive depth. From Floor’s soaring high notes to commanding growls, each vocal element adds layers of intensity to the music. As the song builds to a powerful crescendo, it leaves an indelible impression on listeners, showcasing Floor’s versatility and mastery of her craft.

5. “Monolith of Doubt” by After Forever

Song is distinguished by Floor Jansen’s commanding vocals. Co-authored by Mark Jansen, Sander Gommans, and Floor herself, this masterpiece seamlessly blends elements of symphonic metal with introspective storytelling. Renowned for containing one of Floor Jansen’s most remarkable vocal performances, with soaring high notes and captivating long passages.

4. “Fire” by Floor Jansen

Standout track from Floor Jansen’s debut solo album, is a composition that masterfully showcases her prowess as both a vocalist and composer. Co-created with Gordon Groothedde and Wouter Hardy, this captivating song exudes energy and delivers powerful lyrics that resonate deeply with listeners. As a cornerstone of Floor’s venture into the pop genre, the song not only highlights her versatility but also solidifies her ability to connect with audiences on a profound emotional level, marking it as a standout piece within her solo repertoire.

3. “Energize Me” by After Forever

Co-written by Floor Jansen, Sander Gommans, Joost van den Broek, and the band After Forever, stands as a testament to Floor Jansen’s unparalleled ability to infuse metal with infectious melodies. As After Forever’s most popular and widely known single, this high-energy track captivates listeners with its empowering lyrics and electrifying instrumentation.

2. “Leaden Legacy” by After Forever


A monumental composition that showcases Floor Jansen’s talent for crafting intricate symphonic metal masterpieces. Co-composed by Mark Jansen, Sander Gommans, and Floor Jansen, the song’s haunting melodies and evocative lyrics leave a lasting impression on listeners. Rich with gothic themes, ‘Beyond Me’ transports audiences to a realm of darkness and beauty, where each note and word weaves a tapestry of emotion and intrigue.

1. “Beyond Me” by After Forever

Topping our list is ‘Beyond Me,’ a masterpiece of symphonic metal co-created by Floor Jansen, Mark Jansen, and Sander Gommans. With its captivating vocals, dynamic instrumentation, and thought-provoking lyrics, the song represents the pinnacle of Floor’s achievements as a composer and lyricist. Additionally, it features a mesmerizing duet with Sharon den Adel, elevating the emotional depth and musicality of the piece to even greater heights.


1 Comment

  • Ara Vargas, 4th March 2024 @ 3:31 pm Reply

    Wuauuu mis canciones favoritas de After forever las escribió Floor que excelente noticia🤩

Leave a Reply